top of page

Errands You Can Run With Your Dog

I hate leaving my dog home alone if I don’t have to. Especially with my last dog as he could get anxiety if I left home all by himself. Here are some places I’ve found that I can my dogs with me.



Oil Change/Mechanic

Whenever I’ve had to get work done on my car, my dog comes along with me. This works out wonderfully if it’s something that’s going to take a while because we just go for a walk around the area. One place even had a nearby school that was shut down, so we’d go play on the track and field. If we’d get back from walking early, we’d just take a seat and look at the array of magazines that are usually there or enjoy a hot cup of cocoa.




Drive Through Banking 

Not only do you not even have to leave the car for this one, but many banks often have dog treats that they can send your way through their tunnel system if they notice you brought fido along. One more thing to check off the to do list.



Hardware Store 

Every hardware store I’ve come across big or small, has always allowed dogs to come in and stroll through the store while you shop. Sometimes if the weather gets ugly for several days, I’ll just go to one of the big hardware stores for fun where it’s warm and dry, and just walk around looking at stuff, thinking about future projects.



Farm Store 

This would include stores like Tractor Supply, IFA, CAL Ranch ect. This can be especially fun if it’s baby chick season and you get to see all the different breeds of chicks. Going to the farm store is almost like going to the pet store only they also have stuff to meet you gardening or farming needs. They often times have cookies behind the checkout counter too.



Pet Store 

Obviously, you can bring your pup to the pet store. The larger ones in particular love to see you bring your dog in to say hello. They often even have cookies available at check out. Smaller pet shops that sell animals, may not allow you to bring your dog inside due to the smaller, tighter set up, and not wanting disease spread from your pet to the ones they have up for sale. Small holistic stores that don’t sell animals and just pet food, treats, and toys, often times do allow you to bring your dog in.



Tree Nursery/Landscaping Store 

I’m not sure about all nurseries, but the ones that I’ve been to have had no problems with me bringing my dog along with me to smell the flowers. With a really large nursery, it’s kind of like just taking your dog for a walk through a jungle of trees. Just make sure they don’t pee on any of the plants, people are going to buy those.




Drive Through Restaurant or Outdoor Pavilion

Again, drive though allows you to pick up your food without leaving your car, or there’s many restaurants that offer an outdoor pavilion that you can eat at with your dog. My friends are also dog people, so when we hang out, we usually have the dogs with us. At some point get hungry while we’re out and about. It’s nice to be able to take the dogs to the park, run some errands, and then be able to eat at a dog friendly outdoor pavilion. In Colorado Springs, CO, there’s actually a pretty new groundbreaking restaurant called “Pub Dog Colorado” that allows you to bring you dog inside. They provide an outdoor play area, and there’s even a doggy menu for your dog to order from.



Laundromat  

I’m sure there’s laundromats that do not allow dogs, but where we live, we use a small, run down, 24-hour laundromat in which the people who run it love to see the dogs. In fact, their own dog wonders the premise and says hello to everybody. Because it’s 24-hour and there’s generally not many people there, we’ll go later in the evening after a day of working on the property. We bring the dogs, a laptop with DVD’s, buy some ice cream at the nearby gas station, and make a movie night out of it. Even on cold days it tends to stay nice and cozy because of the hot dryers running.



And there you have it, the most common places your dog is likely welcome to join you. My dog has definitely been to many more places than the ones I listed. It all depends on where you live, how well behaved your pup is, and how tolerant the businesses are. Other business that have been known to allow dog include Apple stores, Barnes & Noble, Hunting & Fishing Shops, Macy’s, Pottery Barn, Hobby Lobby, Ross, Foot Locker, Bath & Body Works, Michael’s, and several others. Be sure to call ahead as rules may vary between locations. 




Recommended Dog Products



Comments


549948_336965519748402_142983101_n[1] - Copy.jpg

Hi, Thanks For Stopping By!

After so many years in the dog field, I'm eager to share my dog knowledge with you . . .

Let The Posts
Come To You

Thanks for submitting!

  • Youtube
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page